What teachers should know about aspergers


 What teachers should know about aspergers

 

Teachers sometimes have a habit of not understanding aspergers.

A few are……..

  • Not letting us sit on our knees, that is a comfortable position.
  • Not letting us walk around in class, we must always be active.
  • Not letting us fidget with our hands.
  • A lot of us like to doodle or draw squiggly lines, teachers don’t like that.
  • Keep an eye that we understand
  • Sometimes our faces and bodies give clues that we might be a bit annoyed or don’t understand – like my twitchy mouth.
  • We constantly like sharpening our pencils, well, I do, but teachers don’t approve.
  • We ask a lot of questions to make things easier but teachers tell us to put our hands down.
  • We feel the need to talk when we are bored, and we never learn our lesson so they have to keep telling us, we don’t mean it.
  • We should have fidget toys to keep us relaxed, eg: blue tack.
  • We need as much learning support as we can get, like printouts and stuff on USB stick etc.
  • We should all get extra time for an exam, for sometimes we work a bit slower than the rest. (I get extra time but other people might not.)
  • That we think outside the box and they should respect our opinion.
  • To phrase everything as it is and make it easy to understand.
  • Never use idioms or sarcasm
  • We speak sometimes before we put our hand up – it isn’t deliberate, it’s a thing about understanding . As soon as you speak, you remember the hand should be up
  • In a double class when we have to concentrate for a long time, allow us a wee break to move – even to go to the toilet.
  • Organisation is a huge problem not a choice. I can’t help that my schoolbag is a tip. I don’t mean it to be.
  • My handwriting is bad, and I doodle, but I can’t help it. My pencil grip is very tight cos of my hypermobile joints.
  • Things like drawing margins and keeping your book beautiful is never going to happen easily for me.
  • I prefer to write in pencil, and am thinking others do, cos we make more mistakes. So it makes rubbing out easier.
  • My uniform might not be tidy as I don’t like the feeling of the collar on my neck or the tie too tight.
  • Make sure your face matches what you are trying to say – it can be hard to read.
  • A revision list at the end of each chapter. Sometimes like geography it is hard to know what exactly we learn.
  • It is hard for Aspies to skip from topic to topic so teachers should try not to skip out chunks of pages

These are a few things that would make school easier.

By Fionn.            Typed by Caoilte.

16 thoughts on “What teachers should know about aspergers

  1. On my way to school to pick kids up and will be telling the teachers about your blog as there is a little boy in my sons class who has probs and this will be great advice

  2. Fionn,
    We listened to your interview with John Murray with great interest, both you and your parents are an inspiration to us… Our son Jack is 3.5 yrs old and autistic and listening to your storey has given us so much hope and energy… The experiences you shared with us are very similar to What Jack is currently going through but with good intervention in place he is making great progress….
    When it comes to the world of autism we always think of the phrase “different ,not less” .
    You are such a fine young man with a great future… You’re a credit to your parents, and your parents a credit to you

    Best wishes
    Richard & Linda Gibbons

    • Its Helen here.
      Am so glad you have an early diagnosis.
      You really have to just arm yourself with facts about dealing with schools- writing statements so that school have to do what is needed.
      And we have a good working communication with schools – but we lead on the ideas :)
      Please keep us posted on how it goes for you
      Helen

  3. Thanks, Fionn.
    I will try to remember some of what you wrote whenever I am about to lose patience again with my son. Needing more time, being disorganised, not catching many of the things he should (like what will be the subject of the next test…?), doodling – that’s my boy, too!

  4. I totally agree Helen it should be taught to teachers while still in college every teacher should know and use a lot of skill’s that benefit not just Asperger kids. They learn about the heart lungs ect in primary school yet nothing about emotions or mental health in this country ,other countries have it as part of their daily studies .

    • Plus there is a lot of value to many many children.
      When I taught, I remember a great talk on Special Needs which said – if you teach EVERY pupil as if they have dyslexia they all benefit.
      It was so true!
      Bullet points
      Handouts…
      Again all common sense items…
      H

  5. The teachers at my school are amazing at this. I remember my teacher last year in Year 6 offering me extra time, and I was having none of it. As I’m not intellectually impaired (my IQ is 162) I thought of it as cheating.

    • Fionn either does a test too fast – if he finds it easy, or has processing problems if it is a composite task – but gets a method if allowed to think it through.
      But his school are very obliging.
      H

Leave a Reply

